Blog Detail

WotLK Classic Phase 4: Account-Wide Collections, Easier Shadowmourne, Dungeons and Raids Update

The final phase of Wrath Classic is here, and it's packed with exciting changes and updates that will enhance your gameplay experience. From the long-awaited Looking for Dungeon (LFD) tool to adjustments in obtaining Shadowmourne and account-wide collections, there's a lot to cover in this guide. In this article, we'll provide you with an in-depth overview of what to expect in Wrath Classic Phase 4, including key features, dungeon and raid changes, and class updates.


WotLK Classic Phase 4: Account-Wide Collections, Easier Shadowmourne, Dungeons and Raids Update


The Looking for Dungeon (LFD) Tool

The addition of the LFD tool in Wrath Classic Phase 4 is a game-changer. Originally introduced during this final patch in the original Wrath of the Lich King expansion, it offers a convenient way for players to form groups for dungeons and raids. The LFD tool aims to streamline the leveling experience, making it easier for players to find groups without the hassle of manually assembling them. This is particularly useful for Wrath content, as it helps players access end-game content, breaking down barriers like gear score and experience requirements that can sometimes hinder progress.


While the LFD tool's mechanics in Wrath Classic are yet to be fully revealed, it is expected to resemble the version currently available in the retail game. Keep an eye out for updates, as they may tweak the tool based on feedback during the PTR phase.


Titan Rune Dungeon Difficulty: Gamma

A new dungeon difficulty level, known as Gamma, is making its debut in Phase 4. Although the specific mechanics are yet to be confirmed, this difficulty level is expected to drop a currency similar to Saronite Emblems, likely usable for acquiring Trial of the Grand Crusader loot. Additionally, players will have the opportunity to purchase Primordial Saronite using this new currency, offering an alternative way to obtain this valuable crafting material.



Icecrown Dungeons: Forge of Souls, Pit of Saron, and Halls of Reflection

The Icecrown dungeons: Forge of Souls, Pit of Saron, and Halls of Reflection are being updated to provide extra rewards through the Titan Rune system. While these dungeons maintain their challenge, there won't be any additional mechanics added. Blizzard aims to preserve the original 2009 experience while enhancing the rewards for players.


Stay tuned for more information on Defense Protocol Gamma and how these dungeons fit into Wrath Classic's final patch in the upcoming weeks.


Icecrown Citadel Raid Changes

Icecrown Citadel, the iconic raid, is receiving several changes in Wrath Classic Phase 4:

  • The attempt system on Heroic difficulty remains, with 50 attempts per week across heroic bosses, including Putricide, Lanathel, Sindragosa, and the Lich King.
  • There will be no restrictions or gating to access later wings of the raid, allowing players to clear all content immediately.
  • No requirement to defeat the Lich King on Normal mode before accessing Heroic.
  • Stay tuned for news on the scaling buff, as it's currently not on the PTR.


Easier Shadowmourne Acquisition

For those aspiring to wield Shadowmourne, Phase 4 brings good news. Shadowmourne's acquisition has been made more accessible and less reliant on Primordial Saronite. Shadowfrost Shards will now drop from bosses without requiring a dedicated player in the raid. This change significantly reduces the initial price of this item and simplifies the process. The quests related to defeating bosses with Shadow's Edge can now be completed simultaneously while collecting Shadowfrost Shards.


Additionally, Shadowfrost Shards will have consistent drop rates on both 25-player Normal and Heroic modes, making it achievable even for those who can't clear Heroic. End-of-wing bosses in Icecrown Citadel will guarantee the drop of a single Shadowfrost Shard, providing players with a consistent source of shards.


Blizzard's intention is to accelerate the acquisition of Shadowmourne, allowing more players to enjoy this legendary weapon while the content is still current. By halving the time needed to complete Shadowmourne, it becomes a more achievable goal for players in Wrath Classic.


Updated Collections UI and Account-Wide Mounts, Pets, and Heirlooms

Wrath Classic Phase 4 introduces an updated Collections UI, combining your mounts, pets, and heirlooms in one place. Most importantly, this update makes nearly all of them account-wide, with the exception of class-specific mounts. Flying also scales to your level on account-wide mounts, ensuring a smooth transition between different characters.


Additionally, account-wide access to mounts means that Zul'Gurub mounts will be removed from the game's Cataclysm content, so consider farming them on any character capable of defeating the bosses.


Class Changes

Several class changes are coming to Phase 4:

  • Hunters receive the Explosive Trap Launcher, allowing them to use Explosive Trap from range, simplifying their rotation and increasing DPS.
  • Resto Druids, Priests, and Shamans will see adjustments to abilities like Wild Growth, Circle of Healing, Ancestral Healing, and Divine Hymn, favouring players over pets and guardians.
  • Demo Warlocks will have more consistent Demonic Pact mechanics.
  • Affliction Warlocks will benefit from Infernal resets at the encounter end, enhancing their DPS output.



Wrath Classic Phase 4 is shaping up to be an exciting and player-friendly update, with improvements to accessibility, raid content, class mechanics, and collections. Whether you're chasing Shadowmourne, exploring Icecrown Citadel, or expanding your collection of mounts, pets, and heirlooms, this phase has something for everyone. Stay tuned for further updates, and enjoy your adventures in Azeroth!

Related Posts

WotLK Classic Icecrown Citadel Each Boss's Statistics and Mechanics Guide
WotLK Classic Icecrown Citadel Each Boss's Statistics and Mechanics Guide

The second reset of Icecrown Citadel has come and gone. With the Lich King defeated on heroic 25-man difficulty in just over an hour and a half from launch, it begs the question: is this raid as challenging as we remember, or has it become easier over time? In this guide, we'll take a detailed look at each boss's statistics and mechanics, from the easiest to the hardest, to give you a comprehensive overview of Icecrown Citadel in WoW Classic.

What Sets Wrath of the Lich King Apart from Classic WoW?
What Sets Wrath of the Lich King Apart from Classic WoW?

In this article, we'll explore the significant changes that Wrath of the Lich King (WoW Classic's next expansion) brought to the game and how these changes are shaping the way players experience Classic. As we approach BlizzCon and the potential announcement of the next steps for Classic, it's important to understand the unique aspects of both Vanilla and Wrath Classic and how they cater to different types of players.

WotLK Classic Icecrown Citadel Boss Guide: Tips and Tricks | Normal and Heroic Mode
WotLK Classic Icecrown Citadel Boss Guide: Tips and Tricks | Normal and Heroic Mode

Welcome to our detailed guide for Icecrown Citadel in the World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Classic. In this guide, we will walk you through the strategies for both normal and heroic modes, providing valuable tips and insights to help you conquer the challenges within this iconic raid. The Icecrown Citadel is a formidable fortress with various bosses, and we'll delve into each encounter, sharing strategies and recommendations to ensure your success.

Shopping Cart

Support Pay Method
7x24 online livechat go page top