Blog Detail

Elder Scrolls Online: A Journey Through the Ever-Changing Landscape

Since its release in 2014, The Elder Scrolls Online has undergone a significant transformation, receiving consistent yearly updates that continually expand and enhance the game. With a vast array of add-ons and content updates, ESO has solidified itself as one of the most steadily evolving MMOs in the gaming world. In this guide, we will take you on a journey through the various updates, starting in 2015, highlighting major milestones, new zones, classes, and gameplay improvements. The most recent update, Necrom, will also be explored, giving you an overview of what's new in the ever-changing world of ESO.


Elder Scrolls Online: A Journey Through the Ever-Changing Landscape


2015: Imperial City and Orsinium

In 2015, about a year after its initial release, ESO received the Imperial City update, introducing a brand-new PVE/VP play space. Players could now venture into the Imperial City districts and sewers to farm enemies for currency exchange to obtain gear. The update also opened up opportunities for open-world PVP, adding excitement and unpredictability to the gameplay.


Orsinium, another significant update in 2015, brought players to a vast new zone with numerous points of interest, delves, cities, towns, and more. The addition of public dungeons provided players with thrilling experiences, facing large groups of enemies, elites, and bosses. The Maelstrom Arena, a single-player challenge with increasingly difficult waves of enemies, also made its debut in this update, offering valuable loot and rewards.


2016: Thieves Guild and Dark Brotherhood

In 2016, the Thieves Guild update offered players the chance to join this iconic guild, with a new skill line dedicated to sneaking, stealing, and thievery. Daily heist missions required players to infiltrate specific locations, steal designated ESO items, and complete the tasks undetected. Dark Brotherhood update introduced assassination-themed content, with new quests, targets, and a dark Brotherhood skill line that allowed players to become skilled killers for hire.


Additionally, 2016 saw the introduction of Shadows of the Hist, a smaller DLC with two new Argonian-themed dungeons, and the significant One Tamriel update. One Tamriel completely revamped the open-world content, removing level restrictions and implementing level scaling, allowing players to explore any zone at any level, fostering a more horizontal progression experience.


2017: Morrowind and Battlegrounds

Morrowind was a landmark update in 2017, introducing a new yearly content update structure. It marked the beginning of major chapters that included a bulk of new content, as well as smaller DLC packs throughout the year. Players returned to Morrowind to explore the island of Vvardenfell and experience a new class, the Warden. The Warden class, with nature-based magic and animal companions, became a favourite among players.


Battlegrounds, a new PVP mode, brought intense small-scale battles with three teams of four players facing off in arenas. The update also included a new 12-player trial and new 12-player dungeons.


2018-2022: Dark Heart of Skyrim and Beyond

Subsequent years brought a series of updates, culminating in the Dark Heart of Skyrim in 2020 and the Legacy of the Bretons in 2022. These updates introduced new zones, dungeons, classes, systems, and companions. The addition of the Antiquity system provided players with treasure-hunting quests and unique rewards, while the companion system allowed players to have allies fighting alongside them.


2023: The Necrom Update

The most recent update, Necrom, continues the ever-changing landscape of ESO. It adds new zones, including the Telvanni Peninsula and the Daedric realm of Apocrypha. Players can explore these unique environments and engage in new world events, such as Bastion nimics. The Necrom update also introduces The Arcanist class, offering players the chance to harness arcane energies, summon tentacles, and use ancient runes to cast spells. Additionally, a brand new game system will be introduced later in the year, providing players with endless dungeon exploration and excitement.



The Elder Scrolls Online has come a long way since its launch in 2014. With consistent updates and content additions, the game has evolved into a rich and diverse MMO experience. Whether you enjoy immersive questing, challenging dungeons, thrilling PVP battles, or treasure hunting, ESO offers something for every player. As the game continues to evolve, there will always be something new to discover and enjoy in the vast world of Tamriel. So, step into the realm of The Elder Scrolls Online and embark on an epic adventure like no other.

Related Posts

ESO Alliance Points (AP) Guide: Everything You Need To Know
ESO Alliance Points (AP) Guide: Everything You Need To Know

The Elder Scrolls Online has a lot of mysterious systems, and one of the hardest to understand is the AP, or Alliance Points system. If you’re feeling lost when it comes to AP, this guide will help you make sense of it all.

Top 4 Buy-to-Play MMORPGs You Can Enjoy Endlessly After a Single Purchase
Top 4 Buy-to-Play MMORPGs You Can Enjoy Endlessly After a Single Purchase

Discover the best Buy2Play MMORPGs that require just a one-time purchase for endless gameplay. Explore our list of top 4 MMORPGs where additional content is optional, and no monthly fees are needed.

Top 3 Best Farms in Whitestrake's Mayhem | Elder Scrolls Online
Top 3 Best Farms in Whitestrake's Mayhem | Elder Scrolls Online

Get ready for ESO's Whitestrake's Mayhem (Midyear Mayhem event with our guide to the top 3 farms. Learn where to go, what to do, and how to earn the best rewards, including Pelinal's Midyear Boon Boxes, Alliance Points, and Tel Var Stones.

Shopping Cart

Support Pay Method
7x24 online livechat go page top